Frequently Asked Questions / Why does Skype ask me to “Allow access” when I run RecollX?

To archive your Skype history, RecollX needs to communicate with Skype.  The “Allow access” prompt is a Skype security feature which alerts the user that an application is attempting to communicate with a Skype account.  Skype will prompt you to allow RecollX for each new Skype account you wish to archive.

If you have an existing archive and only want to use the RecollX search facility, you do not need to authorize RecollX for use with Skype.  In this case, note that your archive will not contain the latest Skype history until you update your archive.

Posted in: General